The Effervescence

January 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

It is easy to be forgotten. It is easy to be lost in the crowd of memory. And if you ask me if it’s easy for me to forget things, yes, indeed it is. Whether I like it or not.

Perhaps it is this lightness that I love about the transience of life. The transience of goods. The transience of memories. Even the transience of people.

My oh my, we can be forgetful of that effervescence, that lightness. I am unburdened.

Yesterday was a thousand years ago.

So what do they mean then, these things people hand you, uninvited: pathetic pleas, abrasive comments, vulgar ugliness, shameful aggression?

They are what they are: pathetic pleas, abrasive comments, vulgar ugliness, shameful aggression. They are the reflections of their owners: pathetic, abrasive, ugly, and shameful.

What are these attacks then? What are they, when you easily forget them? When instead of resenting them you barely realized that you’ve passed them.

Nothing, if you ask me. Because I believe in beauty, and the lack of beauty. Everything else is transitory, everything else is insignificant.

The effervescence is in me.

– RN

Graffiti Buddha by Kolja Massenberg, from http://www.seenby.com/kolja-massenberg/grafitti-buddha

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Effervescence at Docere.

meta

